If you think it’s okay to serve alcohol to your children, even in your own home, the answer is not really. A Fort Lupton mom who provided alcohol to dozens of children, including her own, during a party at her house this year will spend three years on probation, conduct 180 hours of community service and attend a parenting class, according to the Greeley Tribune.

Like many communities, Fort Lupton has Social Hosting laws, where adults can face felony charges if they serve or provide alcohol to anyone under the age of 21, the legal age to consume alcohol in Colorado.  The can also be responsible for police, fire or other emergency response services dispatched to their property, and for court fees necessary to settle the complaint.  In addition, injured parties can seek damages and cash settlements from a social host, should they be involved in an accident as a result of drinking alcohol provided by the social host.

Know the Law in Colorado

Colorado has several laws that deal with underage drinking.  The most important one is that it is illegal for anyone under age 21 to possess or consume alcohol.

Minor in Possession (MIP):  This is the most common charge in Colorado concerning underage drinking.  Any young adult under the age of 21 found with alcohol or suspected of consuming it will be charged with MIP.  There are severe consequences:

  • First offense:  fine up to $250, up to 24 hours of community service
  • Second offense:  Fine up to $500, up to 24 hours of community service, and mandatory alcohol class
  • Third Offense (or more):  3-12 months imprisonment and/or $250-$1,000 fine and mandatory alcohol class

About This Content’s Sponsor

This information is provided by Weld County Prevention Partners, a coalition of concerned parents, health care and social services professionals, community leaders, educators, business owners, law enforcement, volunteers and citizens who want the best for the youth in our community. You can find a wealth of information on their official website.