The Hockey Hall of Fame may not seem as prestigious as the Baseball Hall in Cooperstown or the Football Hall in Canton, but if you spend your whole life on skates, I am sure there is no greater honor than being enshrined in Toronto. That honor came true for six former NHL players today (June 23), two of them former Colorado Avalanche stars. 

The vote for which players would be enshrined took place today (June 23) at the annual meeting of the Selection Committee in Toronto.

Former Avalanche players Peter Forsberg and Rob Blake were two of the six elected to the 2014 class in the "player category." The other four players elected were Dominik Hasek, Mike Modano, Pat Burns and Bill McCreary.

Blake and Forsberg won the Stanley Cup with the Av's in 2001, and Forsberg was also on the 1996 Stanley Cup Championship Av's team.

The 2014 induction celebration will be held Nov. 17 at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto.

More From 99.9 The Point