Loveland Service Officer Seen Texting While Driving
A video of a Loveland community service officer texting and driving is turning heads.
Posted yesterday (February 11) on Facebook, the video shows the officer using both hands to text while driving.
According to The Coloradoan, the Loveland Police Department is aware of the video. They said on Facebook that they were "addressing the situation."
Under Colorado law, drivers cannot text and drive behind the wheel.
Adult drivers are fined $300 dollars for a first time violation. The fine increases to $1,000 dollars for subsequent violations that result in bodily injury or death, with the possibility of one year of jail time.
Minor drivers are fined $50 for a first time violation, and $100 for subsequent violations.
Colorado lawmakers are currently proposing a bill that would make these laws even stricter. If passed, the bill would fine drivers for holding a cell phone, even if they are not texting, while driving.