Applications were submitted from across Weld County, creating a very competitive selection process.  Recipients were selected based on their outstanding academic results, school involvement, leadership in the community, and plans to further their education.  The 2016 selected scholarship recipients represent 13 Weld County High Schools.  The Foundation Board is proud to help these community minded students build a bright future for themselves and, as a result, our community.

Over $32,000 will be awarded to the students for the 2016-2017 academic year. The recipients include:

  • Rachel Carrillo - Valley High School - Gilcrest
  • Brooke Hinojosa - Highland High School - Ault
  • Rogelio Ordonez - Greeley West High School
  • Morgan Smith - Platte Valley High School - Kersey
  • Yesenia Chavez - Roosevelt High School - Johnstown
  • Brittany Mena - Frontier Charter Academy - Greeley
  • Lexi Potter - Greeley West High School
  • Karen Santibanez-Lopez - Fort Lupton High School
  • Aaron Hall - Greeley Central High School
  • Alexandra Multer - University Schools - Greeley
  • Caiden Rexius - Eaton High School
  • Alex Schaffer - Northridge High School - Greeley
  • Madison Holzworth - Prairie High School - New Raymer
  • Kade Olson - Windsor High School
  • Dayna Rodriguez - Greeley West High School
  • Izaiah Valdez - Northridge High School - Greeley

For the second year, a college-level scholarship was also awarded. The 2016 recipient is Kristen Schmidt who attends Colorado State University and is pursuing a degree in Agriculture.

CSU Student Kristen Schmidt
Greeley Stampede

The Stampede Foundation is a non-profit organization formed to support continuing education for Weld County students. Since beginning the program, the Stampede Foundation has awarded more than $300,000 in scholarships.

Greeley Stampede events and programs that benefit the Stampede Foundation include: The Stampede Western Art Show, Big Buckle Ball, and Golf Tournament.

More From 99.9 The Point